What Does Online Mode Mean in Minecraft?
Online mode is a server setting that lets you only allow players authenticated with Mojang's servers and prevent players with cracked versions of Minecraft from joining. Disabling online mode will allow offline/cracked clients to join the server.
Players can also change their usernames to join the server with a different user's account, which is a security risk as it means you could log in to a different user's profile on a Minecraft server. We recommend that you install an authentication system like the AuthMeReloaded plugin, a Fabric mod like EasyAuth, or a Forge mod like Nedologin or SimpleLogin to add an authentication system on your service.
Disabling online mode also prevents skins from loading in. To restore profile skins, you will need to install a plugin like SkinsRestorer, a mods like FabricTailor or Everlasting Skins for modded servers.
How to Change Online Mode to False in Minecraft
To disable online mode, you need to turn off your minecraft server.
Once the server is offline, go to the Properties Tab and switch the setting off to run on offline mode.
If you can't find the setting in the Properties Tab, you can also change the setting by editing the
server.propertiesfile in the "Files" Tab. Just setonline modeto "false" and that will also make the server run on offline mode.